Christmas Feast

It’s always my passion to come up with food menus for the family every festive season.

This year, planning started about 2 months ago, first a skeleton, then fine tuning as the days went by.

I had 2.5h to whip up 2 appetisers plus its accompanying dips/sauce, salad, 2 sides, 1 main meat, 1 carb and dessert. Solo. In the end, I overran by 30minutes. Not too bad. Very blessed that hubby and in laws entertained the kids whilst I was slogging it out in the kitchen.

Appetisers
Grilled spiced prawns with a Peranakan inspired mango salsa

Smoked salmon rolls with a Greek yogurt with capers and spring onion dip

Salad
Butterhead lettuce with my favourite toppings in a homemade tahini dressing

Mains
Baked chicken rolls with chestnut and mushroom stuffing wrapped with bacon accompanied by Duchy’s organic apple and raisin chutney

Garlic butter herb rice (sorry, no pics taken for this one)

Sides
Roasted vegetable medley of eggplant, sweet potato, pumpkin and red onions

The other side vegetable was steamed broccoli and French beans tossed in butter, mainly for the younger kids who are less adventurous with spices.

Dessert
Warm molten lava chocolate cake with B&J ice cream
This has got to be my fav of all. First attempt at a lava cake and it turned out good. Got the recipe from Nigella Lawson. Molten lava chocolate cake

I reduced the sugar to 120g but still found it sweet. Maybe I should reduce further to 100g next time. I used 5 medium eggs and I upped the baking time to 20min cos it was no where near ready at 10min. I shall do 15min next time to get more lava in my cake.

Have a Blessed Christmas everyone. Enjoy the pics.

20131214-220357.jpg

20131214-220409.jpg

20131214-220421.jpg

20131214-220435.jpg

20131214-220457.jpg

20131214-220515.jpg

20131214-220526.jpg

20131214-220535.jpg

Leave a Reply

