A Classic Butter Cake

20140510-235949.jpg

I don’t know about you, but where I live, it is getting difficult to find a good ole classic cake these days….and those without artificial flavouring nor colouring is even more rare.

Don’t get me wrong. I do enjoy the fancy stuff, with the different layers of flavours and textures. Not to mention the visual treat these modern sweet treats offer (and the big hole they burn in your pocket too!)

So it is Mother’s Day tomorrow where we live and our little angel has summoned mummy dearest to bake a cake for her godma. With the little one running a fever then, I am not gonna get very far with my baking materials. One look into my pantry and I can only think of whipping up a good old classic – butter cake. Considering that godma loves a good cake paired with equally good tea on a Mothering Sunday, this should seal the deal.

It’s a recipe that I have picked up from The Little Teochew and tweaked it a little. I reduced the sugar to 170g and upped the butter by another 25g. This time round I made it into little loaves using my Wilton loaf pan.

When I was done making the batter, I decided to take out half to make an earl grey butter loaf instead. I infused 1 tbsp earl grey tea leaves ( these should be grinded but not too fine. You don’t wanna be chomping on large tea leaves) in just scalded milk (about 2tbsp) for about 10min. I added this mix (tea leaves and milk all in) and stirred into the batter until just mixed. Don’t over stir.

This recipe can yield about 5-6 mini loaves, depending on how full you fill each loaf compartment. I recommend no more than 3/4 full to allow some room for the cake to rise.

As I was taking pictures, my kids kept asking “mummy are you done taking pictures yet? Can we eat it now?”. Enjoy! And a blessed Mother’s Day to all the mummies out there.

20140511-000051.jpg

20140511-000119.jpg

Leave a Reply

