Chocolate-chocolate Muffin

20140626-220056-79256230.jpg
When you are an avid baker and only puts in real, natural ingredients into your bakes, you are going to find it hard buying most generic mass produced bakes off the shelf. By the time I get through reading the ingredients list, I usually return the nicely packed item back to the shelf.

If I do buy something from a local bakery, I tend to want to try and identify each ingredient they have added with each bite that I take. It’s not only about the taste but what goes in it that matters most to me.

I have been eyeing this recipe from The Brown Eyed Baker the past week. Finally I got my chance to test it out this afternoon. The pics on her website looked so promising and the comments were most flattering. So I set out with much expectation. It did not disappoint.

I did tweak the recipe though. I don’t like my stuff too sweet so I reduced the sugar, upped the butter and chocolate slightly. This is the ingredients list in metric measurements with the quantity being tweaked to my liking. If you want the original recipe, do follow the link above. Apart from tweaking the ingredients, all the steps from the original recipe were followed to a tee.

Ingredients
250g plain flour
50g fine caster sugar
60g unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1 large egg
11/4 cup buttermilk
1 tablespoon of vanilla extract
60g chopped dark couverture chocolate
85g unsalted butter
70g mini bittersweet choc chips or bittersweet/dark choc chunks (or as much as you desire but no more than 100g)

I didn’t have buttermilk at home so I made my own – I added 1 tablespoon of vinegar to fresh milk. You can add lemon juice instead of vinegar too.

Method
1. Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius. Butter or spray the 12 moulds in a regular-size muffin pan or fit with paper muffin cups. Place the muffin pan on a baking sheet.

2. Melt the butter and the chopped couverture chocolate together in a bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. Remove from the heat. (If you don’t want couverture chocs, any other dark chocolate with at least 55% cacao will do)

3. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In a large glass measuring cup or another bowl, whisk the buttermilk, egg and vanilla extract together until well combined. Pour the liquid ingredients and the melted butter and chocolate over the dry ingredients and, with the whisk or a rubber spatula, gently but quickly stir to blend. Do not overmix the batter. (It should be a fairly thick batter, not too smooth but no visible flour either. Don’t bother to smooth out the lumps in the batter) Stir in the remaining chopped chocolate. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups. (I filled my muffin cups right up as I like it to dome. Do not attempt to smoothen out the batter as it will cause it to flatten out instead of dome)

4. Place baking tray on the top shelf. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until a thin knife inserted into the center of the muffins comes out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack and cool for 5 minutes before carefully removing each muffin from its mould.

20140626-215333-78813952.jpg

20140626-221048-79848726.jpg

Leave a Reply

