Matcha (Green Tea) and Azuki Beans Cake

20140712-214520-78320216.jpg

Another birthday celebration in the family. The month of July has me busy busy busy in the kitchen.

Decided to make use of my earl grey cake recipe but swopped the earl grey tea leaves for matcha powder instead. I like mine strong so I used 2 heaped tablespoons of the powder to steep in the scalded milk.

20140713-215247-78767563.jpg
See the gorgeous green hue for the cake batter? The green tea aroma doesn’t float during baking. You will begin to doubt whether you are making a green tea cake or vanilla cake (even though it was only 2tsp of vanilla extract!). But fret not, the green tea taste comes across when you eat it.😉

I made the Azuki bean paste from scratch. I boiled about 120g of Azuki beans in water till it is soft. Then mashed it to the thick paste I want, adding sifted icing sugar to taste. This amount is enough to make a layer to cover a 7inch cake.

I made a dam using the green tea buttercream before I spread the red bean paste. This will prevent any “red” infusion in the buttercream.

20140713-215846-79126645.jpg

For the buttercream I used a standard buttercream recipe but replaced the vanilla with 2 heaped tablespoons of matcha powder.

Cross section of the cake

20140713-220017-79217406.jpg

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

